Extracting primary care data for a national musculoskeletal audit

This is my first time of sending a message on this Forum as I’m hoping someone might be able to help with a specific API problem that needs a solution.

For context: our University research group has been funded to set up and pilot a new National Audit for patients with musculoskeletal conditions (e.g. back, knee and shoulder pain) in community and primary care. All the existing national audits are collecting/reporting data from secondary care, and whilst individual MSK services are collecting data, there is an urgent need for consistent, benchmarked, and reported health data in this sector. The Community Services Data Set is not currently focussed on MSK conditions or reporting against MSK Standards of Care.

Most musculoskeletal (MSK) patients are now being treated by either GPs or community-led physiotherapy teams who are either seeing patients via direct self-referral or going into GP practices as First Contact Practitioners.

Many physiotherapy clinical teams are willing to be part of our National MSK Audit and we already have over 40 NHS organisations from all around the UK who are currently being onboarded (e.g. organising data sharing agreements, aligning data collection to our data dictionary, adding our consent and data privacy information into their routine data collection methods). We also have HRA ethics approval for 5 years to collect the data, which will sit within the West Midlands Secure Data Environment (so not leave the NHS for analysis). We are using patient consent as the legal basis for medical record data linkage across the system. The CSUs are able to get the secondary care data we want for patients into the national audit repository. Patients will complete a survey (online) to collect the PROMs and consent needed.